EESTI SUOMEKSI ENGLISH DEUTSCH
 
Regions
Welcome to Estonia
   
 
Excursion
Catering
Lodging
Conference
Banquet
Activity
Health Activity
Museum
Schoolmanor
 
Kõue / Kau
Architectural style:
Region: North-Estonia
County: Harjumaa
Address: Triigi küla, Kose vald, 75019
Phone: +372 6441411
E-mail: info@kau.ee
Homepage: www.kau.ee
Show on map
Services:
Catering Catering
Lodging Lodging
Conference Conference
Banquet Banquet
Activity Activity
Museum Museum
Manor pattern Manor pattern
The Kau Manor is one of the oldest manors in Estonia. Its located in the southern Harju district, in Kõue parish, thirty minutes outside the capital city Tallinn. Kau Manor is deeply entrenched in Estonian history. First mentioned in the Liber Census Daniae in 1241, the Manor’s thick and irregular walls suggest that the building was originally a medieval vassal stronghold. The main building was built in several stages between the 14th and 19th centuries. During the 17th and 18th centuries the main building was ornamented with lavish Baroque decorations. The classical appearance of the main building has survived to the present day. Columns adorning both the façade and the right side of the main building extending through two floors and are crowned by flat triangle front pieces. The first known owner of the manor was a vassal of the Danish King Gerhardus de Kouwe (Gerhard from Kau) who was the master of Kau in 1319. Since nothing else is known about this family in later centuries, the historians have thought that Gerhardus was an Estonian who participated the failed 1343 uprising of St George’s Night and lost the manor during the suppression of the Estonians in the aftermath. However, Kau has been a home of warriors, artists, explorers and statesmen ever since A renowned warlord Heinrich Dücker owned Kau during the Livonian War in the 1560s. The Head of the Estonian Noble Corporation Tonnies Wrangell lived here in the end of 16th century. In the early 19th century Kau was the home to a world famous explorer Otto von Kotzebue. In 1906 it became a by-manor of nearby Paunküla, owned by the von Hagemeister family. Triigi manor remained in their possession until its expropriation by the newly independent Republic of Estonia in 1919. In the 1920s and 30s Kau was owned by a War of Independence hero, the head of Estonian Military Intelligence Colonel Karl Laurits. In 1975, the house was abandoned and left to decay for several years. In 2007, Mary Jordan and Eerik Kross acquired the Manor House. Although only a relic of its former self, Mary and Eerik were intrigued by the rich history of the place. Mary—an acclaimed filmmaker and artist—saw the Manor’s potential and committed herself to breathing new life into the house. As a result of the extensive restoration effort, the Manor has retained its original detailing and decoration. While preserving the architectural integrity and charm of the centuries-old house, the restoration effort was also concerned with equipping the Manor with modern amenities and all the comforts of a contemporary boutique hotel. Today, the Manor has regained its elegant and unique interiors: carefully selected antique furniture, elegant staircases, impressive fireplaces and stoves, original beams, and fine art.
1*1 Background
Manor pattern Manor pattern
 
Estonian Manor Association





    BestIT OÜ