EESTI SUOMEKSI ENGLISH DEUTSCH
 
Estonian Manors
Welcome to Estonia
   
 
Excursion
Catering
Lodging
Conference
Banquet
Activity
Health Activity
Museum
Schoolmanor
 
Vihula / Viol
Picturesque Manor Complex for the Big and the Small
Architectural style: Neorenaissance
Region: North-Estonia
County: Lääne-Virumaa
Address: Vihula küla, Vihula vald, 45402
Phone: +372 3246100, +372 5048199
Fax: +372 3264103
E-mail: info.vihula@uhotelsgroup.com
Homepage: www.vihulamanor.com
Show on map
Services:
Catering Catering
Lodging Lodging
Conference Conference
Banquet Banquet
Activity Activity
Manor pattern Manor pattern
“Three sisters” of Estonian manors: Palmse, Sagadi and Vihula are located in the territory of Lahemaa National Park. As when two first ones have been set in the best reasonable order with the support of the state resources, then the somewhat backlog of Vihula is compensated by its location and ensemble. This is one of the most picturesque hearts of manor in the Northern Estonia, where the buildings are placed scattered on the curving coasts of the river and its distended pond. The manor of Vihula was first mentioned in 1501 as the ownership of Hans Lode. In 1605-1810 the possession belonged to Helffreich family and in 1810-1919 to the Schubert family. The latter could manage the remainder manor also in 1930s up to the umsiedlung took them to Germany in 1939. The buildings of the manor are situated on the coasts of Mustoja. The original wooden mansion house burned down in the 19th century, the currently observable main building of stone was built up probably according to the project of architect Friedrich Modi. The outhouses are numerous, most of them are located scattered along the coasts of picturesque Mustoja. On the contrary side of the main square there is so-called Tagamõis, two-storied mansion house from the second half of the 18th century. The vodka plant, faraway cattle yard, smithy etc are located on the island of the river. The restoring of the manor buildings started twenty years ago progresses gradually. Some of the buildings have obtained the new usage. The guesthouse with 27 places is situated in Tagamõisa. The rooms are renovated by maintaining all historical details. The former dove house was renovated into the guesthouse with 14 places in 2005. The 100-place conference and party room is located in the palm house, the restaurant and the bar for up to a hundred visitors in the ice cellar. The sauna including the party rooms for up to 25 persons has been located in the old stable-coach house. The historical equipment can be reviewed in the old watermill and in the working smithy. Besides rowing on Paisjärv and bicycle tours, one can just walk around the picturesque surrounding.
1*1 Background
Manor pattern Manor pattern
 
Estonian Manor Association





    BestIT OÜ